#### pennsylvania COMMISSION ON CRIME AND DELINQUENCY

### PENNSYLVANIA CRIME VICTIMS

- You are not alone... Being a victim of crime can be very hard. You might not be able to focus or remember things. This is all normal for someone who has been a victim of crime.
- There are victim advocates that can provide free services to you. They are available to answer your questions and provide supportive counseling.
  - o To find an organization in your county go to <a href="www.pcv.pccd.pa.gov">www.pcv.pccd.pa.gov</a> or scan the QR code below and select "Find Help in Your County."
- As a victim of crime, you have rights. Go to <a href="www.pcv.pccd.pa.gov">www.pcv.pccd.pa.gov</a> or scan the QR code below to see your rights throughout the criminal justice process, including information on how to exercise additional rights if someone is arrested and/or convicted, and learn how to access immediate resources, such as shelter and protection orders, financial assistance and counseling.
- If you are the victim of domestic violence, you have the right to go to court and file a petition requesting an order for protection from domestic abuse pursuant to the Protection From Abuse Act (23 Pa.C.S. Ch. 61), which could include the following:
  - o An order restraining the abuser from further acts of abuse; An order directing the abuser to leave your household; An order preventing the abuser from entering your residence, school, business or place of employment; An order awarding you or the other parent temporary custody of or temporary visitation with your child or children; An order directing the abuser to pay support to you and the minor children if the abuser has a legal obligation to do so.
- If you are the victim of sexual violence or intimidation, you have the right to go to court and file a petition requesting Sexual Violence Protection Order (SVPO) pursuant to the Protection of Victims of Sexual Assault or Intimidation Act (42 Pa.C.S. Ch. 62A).

To access PA Crime Victims Website



To apply for Compensation



PA Crime Victims App on Google Play



PA Crime Victims App on Apple



If you don't have internet access, SEE BELOW FOR IMPORTANT CONTACT INFORMATION

**Important Local Contact Information - Delaware County** 

Important Local Contact Information - Delaware County		
Domestic Violence Victims		
Domestic Abuse Project of Delaware County	610-565-6272 (24-hour	
	hotline)	
Sexual Assault Victims		
Delaware County Victim Assistance Center	610-566-4342 (24-hour	
	Hotline)	
Child Abuse Victims		
Delaware County Victim Assistance Center	610-566-4342 (24-hour	
Family Support Line	Hotline)	
CASA Youth Advocates	610-268-9145	
	610-565-2208	
Elder Abuse Victims (24-Hour Elder Abuse Hotline 800-490-		
8505)		
SeniorLAW Center	215-988-1244	
Delaware County Victim Assistance Center	610-566-4342 (24-hour	
County Office Services for Aging	Hotline)	
	610-490-1300	
Violent Crime Victims (to include Homicide)		
Delaware County Victim Assistance Center	610-566-4342 (24-hour	
	Hotline)	
Human Trafficking Victims		
Delaware County Victim Assistance Center	610-566-4342 (24-hour	
Family Support Line	Hotline)	
	610-268-9145	
County Victim/Witness Office		
Delaware County Victim Servcies	610-891-4227	
Delaware County Juvenile Court Victim	610-891-4721	
Services		

# **STATEWIDE CONTACTS**

## **Address Confidentiality Program**

Pennsylvania Office of the Victim Advocate - 800-563-6399 or www.ova.pa.gov

## **Offender Release Notification**

PA Statewide Victim Notification System (PA-SAVIN) – 866-972-7284 or www.pcv.pccd.pa.gov

## **Financial Assistance**

Victims Compensation Assistance Program - 800-233-2339 or <a href="https://www.dave.pa.gov">www.dave.pa.gov</a>

# Childline

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services – 800-932-0313 or <a href="https://www.dhs.pa.gov/contact/Pages/Report-Abuse.aspx">www.dhs.pa.gov/contact/Pages/Report-Abuse.aspx</a>



### Office of Victims' Services

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1167 Harrisburg, PA 17108-1167 **Street Address:** 3101 North Front Street Harrisburg, PA 17110

Phone, Fax & Email: (800) 233-2339 (717) 783-5153 (717) 787-4306 (FAX) ra-davesupport@pa.gov

Website: www.pcv.pccd.pa.gov

You may either complete and mail this form to the address listed above or file online at <a href="https://www.dave.pa.gov">https://www.dave.pa.gov</a>

### Victims Compensation Assistance Program Short Form

Please read the following before completing this form.

### You may be eligible for compensation if:

- The crime occurred in Pennsylvania.
- The crime was reported to the proper authorities within 3 days.
- You cooperate with law enforcement authorities investigating the crime, the courts, and the Victims Compensation Assistance Program in processing the claim (some exceptions apply).
- Deadlines for filing may apply. Please visit <a href="www.pcv.pccd.pa.gov">www.pcv.pccd.pa.gov</a> or call 1-800-233-2339 for additional information on filing requirements.
- Minimum loss requirements may apply. Please visit <a href="www.pcv.pccd.pa.gov">www.pcv.pccd.pa.gov</a> or call 1-800-233-2339 for additional information on filing requirements.

### You may be awarded compensation for:

Medical Expenses Transportation Expenses

Counseling Expenses Childcare

Loss of Earnings Home Healthcare Expenses

Loss of Support

Relocation Expenses

Funeral Expenses

Crime Scene Cleanup

Stolen Cash (if your main source of income is
Social Security Retirement, Disability
Income, Supplemental Income, Survivor
Benefits, Retirement/Pension(s), Disability,
or Court Ordered Child/Spousal Support)

An overall maximum award shall not exceed \$35,000; however, certain benefits, such as counseling and crime-scene cleanup, may be paid over and above the maximum. Monetary limits apply to most benefits.

### The Program does not cover:

- Pain and suffering.
- Stolen or damaged property (except replacement of stolen or damaged medical equipment).

A claim may be determined ineligible or an award may be reduced if the conduct of the victim contributed to the injury.

### **Victims Compensation Assistance Program Short Form**

Your cooperation with the Program and the submission of complete and accurate information will assist us in processing your claim in a timely manner.

**IMPORTANT NOTE:** You do not have to wait until the trial is over or all of your bills are received to file a claim. You may file a claim if there is no known offender or if an arrest has not been made.

### General instructions for submitting your claim:

- Please print clearly.
- Complete only those sections that apply to your claim.
- Provide an accurate mailing address, a safe phone number or email address where you can be reached during the day.
- Provide as many of the requested documents as you can when filing your claim. You
  may submit your claim even if you do not have all the required documents. The
  Program may request additional information once the claim is received.
- Sign the Acknowledgement and Reimbursement Agreement and Authorization to Obtain Information and the HIPPA Authorization and Release Agreement (if applicable) sections on the back of the claim form.
- If you would like assistance in filing your claim you may contact the Victim Service Program listed on the back of this form. If no agency is listed, you may contact the Victims Compensation Assistance Program at (800) 233-2339 for assistance.

Please Note: It is important that you inform the Program if you change your mailing address, phone number or email address. To process your claim, we must be able to contact you.

The Victims Compensation Assistance Program is the payer of last resort. This means your award will be reduced by the monies you receive from any other source as a result of the crime, such as insurance, restitution, and civil suit settlements, including monies received for pain and suffering.

We will make every effort to process your claim as quickly and efficiently as possible.

Victims Compensation Assistance Program Short Form Claim # Victim Information Name Date of Birth Soc Sec # Address City State Zip Code County Daytime Phone Email Claimant Information If victim is the claimant, check here: Claimant must be 18 years or older. Date of Birth Name Soc Sec # City Address State Zip Code County Daytime Phone Email Relationship to Victim Crime Information Date of Crime / Date Reported to Police or PFA Filed / / Did it happen at work? □ Yes □ No Were the injuries caused by a motor vehicle? ☐ Yes ☐ No Location of crime (street name and number) City State County Police Department Police Incident Number Person(s) who committed crime Briefly Describe the crime and injuries: Please complete the section(s) for the benefits you are applying for and provide as much of the requested documents that you can at this time. The Program may request additional information once the claim is received. Benefit: Medical/Counseling Expenses Did you incur medical expenses? □ Yes □ No Did you incur counseling expenses? □ Yes Do you have insurance to cover your medical/counseling expenses? □ Yes Provide itemized medical or counseling bills and insurance benefit statements, if applicable. Benefit: Funeral Expenses/Loss of Support Did you incur funeral expenses? ☐ Yes ☐ No Did you receive any monies due to the death? (life insurance, Social security death benefit) 

Yes Were you or others financially dependent on the deceased victim? ☐ Yes ☐ No Provide copies of the itemized funeral bills/receipts and statements of any benefits received. Benefit: Loss of Earnings Dates you missed work Employers name and address: Doctor's name and address who can verify you missed work because of the crime Benefit: Stolen Cash Amount of money stolen? \$ One of the following benefits must be your main source of income to file for stolen cash. Check all that apply. □ Social Security benefit □ Retirement/Pension □ Disability □ Court ordered Child/Spousal support Do you have homeowner's/renter's insurance? □ Yes □ No Are you required to file IRS tax returns? 

Yes Provide copies of your monthly benefit statement for the month/year of the crime, insurance declaration page and most recent tax returns, if applicable. Benefit: Relocation, Crime Scene Cleanup, Transportation Expenses Did you have to relocate due to the crime? □ Yes Did you incur crime scene cleanup expenses? ☐ Yes □ No Did you incur transportation expenses? ☐ Yes ☐ No Representation by Others Are you represented in this matter by an attorney: In filing this compensation claim? □ Yes In a civil lawsuit? □ Yes □ No In an insurance action? □ Yes

#### Victim Service Program Information

For assistance in filing your claim, please call the agency listed here. If no agency is listed, please call 800-233-2339 for assistance.

#### Acknowledgement & Reimbursement Agreements and Authorization to Obtain Information

The Acknowledgement and Reimbursement
Agreement and Authorization to Obtain Information
must be signed before a claim can be verified and
processed for payment.

Acknowledgement and Reimbursement Agreement: The decision to approve my claim is that of the Program. I may object to all or part of the Program's decision in writing within 30 days from the date of the decision. I must prove the exact amount of my losses before the Program will consider awarding compensation from the Crime Victims Compensation Fund. I may later file for reimbursement of any additional expenses incurred relating to the crime. My claim may be denied if I do not cooperate fully with law enforcement agencies, the courts, and the Program, or maintain a valid address with the Program. Making a false claim would be a criminal offense under 18 P.S.§ 11.1303 of the Crime Victims Act. Making a false statement in this claim form with the intent to mislead the Program would be a criminal offense under 18 Pa. C.S. § 4904, Unsworn Falsification. Making a false statement which the Program relies upon to award compensation is a criminal offense under 18 Pa.C.S.§ 3922, Theft by Deception.

I understand that the Crime Victims Compensation Fund is the payor of last resort. I specifically agree to inform the Program of and repay to the Commonwealth any funds that I may receive from any other source that has not already been considered, as a result of the crime and to the extent of the award. That is, I agree to repay any funds that I receive from the offender or any other person or source, which compensates me for the injury I suffered, including proceeds from an insurance policy, as well as any award or settlement from a civil law suit, which was stems from the crime that is the basis for this claim. I further agree that if the claim is at any time determined to be in error, false or fraudulent. I will refund the Program all sums of money paid by the Program.

		for this claim. I further agree that if the claim is at any time all sums of money paid by the Program.
employer of the victim or claimant, company, or any organization havin	any police or government ager g relevant knowledge to furnis	eral director or other person who rendered related services, any cy, including state or federal taxing authorities, any insurance that to the Office of Victims' Services, Victims Compensation respect to the crime that is the basis for this claim
Claimant's Signature		Date
HIPAA Authorization and	Release Agreement	If applying for medical or counseling expenses, this acknowledgement must be signed before the claim verification process can begin.
treatment to  Assistance Program any and all informathorization may be used in place of Office of Victims' Services, Victims	(print name of victim) to f mation in their possession with r f the original. **I understand the is Compensation Assistance Pr	rovider or other person who attended, examined, or provided arnish to the Office of Victims' Services, Victims Compensation espect to the crime that is the basis for this claim. Copies of this at I may revoke this authorization at any time by providing the ogram, with a written, dated request to do so. Further, this is on the date that this claim is closed, whichever is sooner.
Claimant's Signature		Date
Victim Statistical Informa		ompletion of this section is strictly optional.  ing information is used for statistical purposes only.
Race/Ethnicity:   White Black  Asian Native Hawaiian/Ot	k/African American   Hisp	anic/Latino   American Indian/Alaskan Native  Other Race   Multiple Races
Gender:	Primary Lan	guage:
How did you find out about the Pro	ogram:   Hospital  Prose  Victim Service Pro	
Mailing Address	Street Address	Phone and Fax Numbers
PO Box 1167 Harrisburg, PA 17108-1167	3101 North Front Street Harrisburg, PA 17110	tt 800-233-2339 717-783-5153
114113041g, 171 1/100-1107	Hairisoulg, LA 1/110	717-783-3133 717-787-4306 (FAX)

Email Website:

ra-davesupport@pa.gov www.pcv.pccd.pa.gov File online at https://www.dave.pa.gov